News Release


For Immediate Release: July 19, 2013 at 10:56 am

Congressman Bishop to join Congressional Problem Solvers in unveiling Bipartisan Legislative Package

Make government work! package unique, first of its kind


WASHINGTON, D.C. – Tomorrow, Congressman Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA-02) will join over 70 Democratic and Republican members of Congress from both chambers to announce a legislative reform package of nine bills in a first-of-its-kind format to clearly demonstrate the trust-building priorities of the new group.


The Make Government Work! package features nine common-sense bills designed to make government more efficient, effective and less wasteful. Make Government Work! represents the first No Labels legislative package by the Problem Solvers coalition. It is a first step towards restoring trust between lawmakers and eventually strengthening the American people’s trust in our nation’s leaders.


In January, No Labels introduced the inaugural group of 24 Congressional Problem Solvers. Since then, the coalition has more than tripled in size to 80 members.



Congressman Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

More than 70 Democratic and Republican members of the Congressional Problem Solvers coalition from both chambers of Congress



A unique presentation to communicate the Make Government Work! legislative package



TOMORROW, Thursday, July 18, 2013




Upper Senate Park

200 New Jersey Ave, NW

Washington, D.C. 20001



For press credentials to the event, please contact Laura Phelps at, 202- 588-1990 (o) or 202-630-5749 (c)





Full List of Problem Solvers


36 Republicans, 1 Independent, 43 Democrats




Sen. Mark Begich (D-AK), Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL), Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL), Sen. Angus King (I-ME), Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Sen. Dean Heller (R-NV), Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV), Sen. Mark Pryor  (D-AR)


House of Representatives


Rep. Sanford Bishop (D-GA), Rep. Tim Griffin (R-AR), Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ), Rep. Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Rep. Ami Bera (D-CA), Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA), Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-CA), Rep. Paul Cook (R-CA), Rep. Jim Costa (D-CA), Rep. Janice Hahn (D-CA), Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA), Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA), Rep. Raúl Ruiz (D-CA), Rep. David Valadao (R-CA), Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO), Rep. Jared Polis (D-CO), Rep. Jim Himes (D-CT), Rep. Joe Garcia (D-FL), Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-FL), Rep. Tom Rooney (R-FL), Rep. John Barrow (D-GA), Rep. Jack Kingston (R-GA), Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI), Rep. Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL), Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL), Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL), Rep. Dan Lipinski (D-IL), Rep. Brad Schneider (D-IL), Rep. Todd Young (R-IN), Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA), Rep. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS), Rep. Rodney Alexander (R-LA), Rep. Mike Michaud (D-ME), Rep. John Delaney (D-MD), Rep. Kerry Bentivolio (R-MI), Rep. Rick Nolan (D-MN), Rep. Chris Gibson (R-NY), Rep. Michael Grimm (R-NY), Rep. Richard Hanna (R-NY), Rep. Dan Maffei (D-NY), Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Rep. Bill Owens (D-NY), Rep. Tom Reed (R-NY), Rep. Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH), Rep. Renee Ellmers (R-NC), Rep. Mark Meadows (R-NC), Rep. Dave Joyce (R-OH), Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR), Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA), Rep. Chaka Fattah (D-PA), Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Rep. Pat Meehan (R-PA), Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA), Rep. GT Thompson (R-PA), Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI), Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-SC), Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC), Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN), Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-TX), Rep. Jim Matheson (D-UT), Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT), Rep. Jim Moran (D-VA), Rep. Scott Rigell (R-VA), Rep. Frank Wolf (R-VA), Rep. David McKinley (R-WV), Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WI), Rep. Tom Petri (R-WI), Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI), Rep. Reid Ribble (R-WI)



On the Issues

Learn more about the Congressman's positions on the issues facing Georgia and the nation.