Campaign Blog

Congressman Bishop has received the Friend of Farm Bureau award for the 113th Congress.

September 18, 2014 at 4:37 am

Nine House and Senate members from Georgia receive AFBF award


By: Georgia Farm Bureau
9/17/2014 2:21:53 PM


The American Farm Bureau Federation has honored nine Georgia members of the U.S. House and Senate with the Friend of Farm Bureau Award for the 113th Congress.

Sens. Saxby Chambliss and Johnny Isakson were honored, as were Reps. John Barrow (D-12th District), Sanford Bishop (D-2nd District), Jack Kingston (R-1st District), Austin Scott (R-8th District), David Scott (D-13th District), Lynn Westmoreland (R-3rd District) and Rob Woodall (R-7th District).

"Georgia Farm Bureau has long enjoyed strong relationships with the state's members of Congress, and we are blessed to have a group in Washington that understands agricultural issues and how laws affect farmers," said GFB President Zippy Duvall. "We'd like to thank each of them for their support, and the Friend of Farm Bureau Award is one way we do so."

The Friend of Farm Bureau Award, established in 1996 for the 104th Congress, is given to individuals who have supported Farm Bureau issues, as demonstrated by their voting records, and who were nominated by their respective state Farm Bureau and approved by American Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors, which selects the issues used to measure the voting records of nominated legislators.

Additional criteria included number of bills each member sponsored or co-sponsored relating to Farm Bureau priority issues, specific leadership role in Congress on those issues and how accessible and responsive that member is to Farm Bureau members and leaders. Georgia Farm Bureau also has the opportunity to provide reasons why a specific member of Congress should receive the award.
GFB will present the plaques to each of the recipients.

Chambliss and Isakson will each receive the award for the seventh time, dating back to their service in the House of Representatives. Kingston is also being honored with the Friend of Farm Bureau Award for the seventh time. This is the fifth Friend of Farm Bureau Award for Bishop, and fourth each for Barrow and David Scott.

"As the leading industry in Georgia's vibrant economy, supporting our agriculture community has always been a top priority of mine," Isakson said. "I'm proud to join Georgia Farm Bureau to represent such hardworking Americans, and I will continue to make decisions that strengthen our agricultural economy while also protecting its legacy."

Four Georgia members of Congress received the award in 2012, six in 2010, nine in 2008, 12 each in 2006 and 2004 and 11 in 2002.

Read more:

blog comments powered by Disqus